Running & Injury City.

Let’s talk about running.

I’m not doing any of it right now. Boo. I feel like I’ve been in injury city lately. Can we all have a giant injury pity party? I think I need one. And I know most of you runners have dealt with injuries at one point or another.

They suck.

I’ve had a nagging foot injury that crept up last month after my Tar Heel 10-Miler that has gradually gotten more painful. One of these days I will actually make it to the doctor but until then I’ll just be bratty and complain about it.

I have to admit, I’m pretty terrible at dealing with injuries. Mostly, I’m just stubborn and continue running/dancing/exercising despite the pain which inevitably makes things worse. Funny how that works. True story: my senior year of high school I tore my hamstring during dance class and didn’t notice for 3 days, I guess I had some serious endorphins rushing through my system?

Even though I’m still a little (okay a lot) stubborn when it comes to exercise, I’m slowly that rest and recovery is critical to not getting injured, and that doing plyo on a hurt foot is a really terrible idea. Between dealing with tendonitis and now my foot, these injuries are really cramping my style. I miss running and I’ve only got a small window of time before things get unbearably hot here in NC.

I’m not really sure where I’m going with this post other than I’d love to hear your injury stories and how you dealt with it, because obviously I’m not doing a very good job with mine. Any tips for injury prevention/how to not go crazy without running? Tina actually just posted a great post about the benefits of injuries and she brings up a lot of great points about how injuries force you to listen to your body, try new things and train smarter.

Here’s my I-refuse-to-get-injured-again game plan:

  1. Go to the doctor – I’m only resisting it because I’m pretty sure it’s going to go like this: “Ice it and take some naproxen sodium”. I know there’s really not much they can do, but I hate paying for a doctor’s visit just to hear that. And why are doctors visits so expensive? Lame.
  2. Stretch, stretch and stretch again – sometimes I’m really on the ball about stretching and sometimes I really stink at. I want to get more consistent with it. I’ve been neglecting yoga like crazy lately and I can tell my muscles seriously hate me for it. Sorry muscles.
  3. Foam roll my little heart out – Along with yoga, I’ve been neglecting my foam roller, I busted it out the other day and my muscles were crazy tight. Sorry again muscles.
  4. Drink more water – a well hydrated body is a happy body.
  5. Strength training – as much as I hate lunges (I’m pretty sure they qualify as torture) strong and balanced muscles help prevent injuries. Luckily, Best Body Bootcamp has been helping me in this area.
  6. Sleep – it’s essential for recovery, and even though I suck at getting enough sleep, I’m trying to make a really effort to get my 7 hours every night.
  7. Build up mileage slowly – When I can run again. I thought I was already adding pretty slowly, but it’s pretty clear my needs some time to adjust to longer distances because my injuries tend to happen when I’m training for races.
  8. Lots and lots of spin classes – I’m addicted to that post-cardio endorphin rush, so I will be hitting up plenty of spin classes to get my fill of endorphins in a low impact way.

Speedster.

I actually went to a 6AM spin class this morning, my favorite instructor ended up subbing for the class AND we ended class with tabatas to Macklemore and I think that was the fastest I’ve ever pedaled. Best way to end a spin class everrrrr.

Have you ever dealt with injuries? If not I’m super jealous and you need to spill your secrets ASAP.

If so, how did you keep yourself from going crazy?

Are you a fan of spin?

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Just know you’re not the only one to of experienced an injury. It happens girl, but you just have to let your body heal.. or it’ll continuously happen time after time. I know how hard it can be, especially when you see other runners, but keep in mind that there will ALWAYS be races, they aren’t going anywhere. Focus on healing properly hunnie <3

    Reply
  2. All i can say is you will regret it if you don’t let it heal. I took six months off for an injury two years ago and I came back a stronger and faster runner because i took that time off.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

