National Peanut Butter Day & A Peanutty Recipe!

Happy National Peanut Butter Day! Best food holiday ever?

Photo on 2012-04-22 at 21.39 #2

That’s 5 pounds of peanut butter in case you didn’t know. It was gifted to me by my roommate last year and I will admit to eating all 5 pounds in 2 weeks.

Not joking.

I love you peanut butter.

In celebration of this fabulous day, I’ve got a peanut butter cookie recipe for you, which actually shouldn’t be considered a recipe because it only has 5 ingredients but we’re calling it one anyway. But first, let’s get our Thankful Thursday on:

thankful thursday

(Don’t forget to hop on over to Jessie‘s page and check out some other Thankful Thursday posts!)

This weekend I’m thankful for my cellphone. That sounds a little materialistic and ridiculous but hear me out. I love that my cellphone allows me to easily stay connected with my boyfriend, family and friends while I’m away at college.

cell phone

Hello cellular, you’re not very smart, but that’s okay, I like you anyway. Fact: I’m one of about ten college students that doesn’t own a smart phone. I’m 100% okay with this.

I’m especially thankful that it keeps me and my boyfriend connected. Long distance relationships are tough, but it makes me so happy to know that I can just pick up the phone, call him and he can pick up no matter where he is. While it doesn’t make it any easier to be apart it’s nice to hear his voice every night before I go to bed, and that he can always be there for me when I’m having a bad day and I can be there for him.

boyfriend

So thank you modern technology for helping me stay connected with the most important people in my life, even if I can’t be there for them in person.

And back to the peanut butter. Something else I’m very thankful for.

Recipe time!

5-Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

french3

 

Ingredients

  • 1 cup peanut butter (you can use natural, regular, creamy or chunky, all should work – I used Trader Joe’s Natural Salted Chunky Peanut Butter)
  • 1/2 cup sugar (I’ve also made a version of these using 1/3 cup honey which worked well too)
  • 1 egg (I’m pretty sure a flax egg would work here if you wanted to keep things vegan, though I can’t personally vouch for that)
  • 1/4 cup almond meal
  • 1 tsp baking soda

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
  2. Combine all 5 ingredients in a large mixing bowl, mixing until all ingredients are well combined
  3. Scoop onto a cookie sheet
  4. Bake for 8-10 minutes, or until golden brown (careful not to burn the bottoms!)

See, easy peasy. Maybe too easy. They are a hit for gluten-eaters too, I love making them for parties so I know I have a dessert to munch on too :)

What’s your favorite way to eat peanut butter? Let’s be honest, straight out of the jar.

Do you have a favorite food holiday?

Are dependent on your cellphone? Aren’t we all?

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. aw cute picture of you two, have a great friday

    Reply
  2. I <3 PB! Best food ever.

    Reply
  3. What a beautiful thing to be Thankful for!! It’s crazy to think how back in the day they lived without cell phones. I mean, how in the world??!! :)

    Reply
    • I know! I didn’t have a cell phone until I was 16 and sometimes I wonder what I did without it! It’s definitely been a saving grace while I’m at school and so far away from everyone.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

