No Bake Chocolate Peanut Butter Balls {WIAW}

Hellllloooooo blog world. I’ve missed you guys lots!

I’ve been having my own little exam freak out/stress fest over here but it’s all okay because I only have one last exam this afternoon and then I am DONE. Hallelujah.

But enough about exam yuckiness, we need to catch up on life. First of all, it’s Wednesday and you know what that means!

(Thanks Jenn for hosting!)

As a bonus I actually have a healthy holiday recipe for you guys! But first I’m going to make you sit through the terrible phone pictures of my weekend and the crazy things I’ve eaten lately, because I’m nice like that.

First off, the weekend!

Friday night my roommates and some friends went Art Crawlin’. The first Friday of every month the galleries around town open for the public to enjoy. It is a big hit in this college town because there are lots of free snacks and wine. Who can turn down free booze?

Also, I’m on the art committee for Appalachian’s literary arts magazine and our fall release party was the same night, which are the only pictures I got. Oh well.

peel1
peel2

I’m glad this girl photo-bombed my picture of the Christmas tree. Anyway, there was lots of good music (including a band covering The Lumineers, I’m a fan!) and delicious coffee because it was held at a coffeehouse, all and all it was one very fun and art-filled night. And it really made me want to go paint something again.

Saturday morning I work up early to volunteer with a local Girls on the Run 5K

gotr

 

I ended up helping out with the water station. Man little girls can chug some water. It was really fun to help out with an amazing organization like Girls on the Run! I love what they do! And props to those girls for running, you couldn’t pay me enough to run a 5K when I was their age!

5miles

 

I realize that’s impossible to read, but after volunteering with the 5K I was inspired to go out on my own run. The weather was perfect (60 degrees in Boone in December say whattttt) so I decided to do 5 miles on the greenway. I’ve never run on the greenway before, minus a couple races that have been there, and it was such a nice change of pace from the treadmill, and surprisingly flat. I used the Nike+ app on my iPod to track mileage because I don’t have a GPS. It seemed pretty accurate and so far I’ve like it, I’ll have to try it out again soon.

Saturday night my friends and I went out to dinner at Black Cat. We are big Black Cat fans if you couldn’t tell by the fact that we go there almost every weekend. So. Dang. Good.

blackcat

 

This is one sorry excuse for a picture, but it’s what you get. I had a build your own burrito with black beans, rice, spinach, mushrooms and mango salsa. Plus some extra sriracha on top because my obsession with the stuff is back full force.

After dinner we had a DESSERT POTLUCK. That is my kind of potluck.

dessertpotluck

 

Go ahead and multiply this plate by like 5 or 6, this was just round one. Going clockwise starting with the dark looking balls I had no-bake chocolate peanut butter balls (recipe below! And better pictures, promise), pumpkin crisp (recipe coming soon!), part of a white chocolate candy cane cookie and butter kuka cheesecake, and some un-pictured chocolate pie which didn’t appear until a little later on.

So worth the sugar hangover I woke up with on Sunday. However, the sugar hangover I woke up with on Monday because all the dessert leftovers are sitting in my fridge was not worth it. Stress + lots of cake in the fridge = bad news. Here’s a better equation:

party3

 

Friends +

party2

games (telephone pictionary to be exact) +

party1

Holiday wine glasses your friend’s sweet mom gave to + Egg nog and wine =

One fabulous night.

Such a good way to end the semester!

And since this is a WIAW post, here’s some eats:

I’m getting ready to go home for a month long Christmas break so I’ve been in fridge clean out mode, which has resulted in some pretty interesting meals:

wiaw12_2_2

Fage was on sale at the grocery store for $0.70, whatttt. I added a little coconut too.

wiaw12_2_3

Fridge clean out meal #1 tofu, broccoli, mixed up with a smashed avocado and some Bragg’s liquid aminos, it’s was surprisingly good but still a little weird.

wiaw12_2_4

Fridge clean out meal #2, this is when I started getting a little desperate, tofu, purple potato, avocado, liquid aminos and sriracha. It tasted better than it looks and sounds but that might have been because I smothered it in Bragg’s.

wiaw12_2_1

Fridge clean out meal #3, this was before things got too desperate, spaghetti squash and left over chili.

wiaw12_2_5

Wine was very necessary after 15 hours in front of my laptop. I wish I was exaggerating.

gfreepizza

And some gluten-free Trader Joe’s pizza, which tasted like pure heaven. I think the only gluten-filled food I really miss (besides cookies) is pizza. I’m not a huge pizza eater but I definitely get a big craving for it every so often. Thank you Joe the Trader for have a tasty and cheap gluten free pizza.

And now for the recipe, because I’ve made you guys wait long enough

No-Bake Chocolate Peanut Butter Balls

(Gluten-free, Vegan, No added sugar)
Inspired by Katie’s No-Bake PB Cookies

choc1

Ingredients

  • 1 package Sunsweet dates (or equal amount, I think the package was about 24 small/medium dates)
  • 1/3 cup chunky peanut butter
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips (dairy free will work to make these vegan)

Directions:

  1. In a food processor combine the dates and peanut butter until the dates are broken down and the mixture is starting to stick together
  2. Add in the cocoa powder and coconut oil and process again, I find adding a little bit of water helps the mixture stay tacky if the cocoa powder dries it out a little.
  3. Add in the chocolate chips, pulsing a few times just to incorporate the chocolate chips into the “batter”
  4. Roll into 1″ balls (or bigger if desired)
  5. (Optional) Place the balls on a pan or plate and leave in the refrigerator until ready to serve. My kitchen was really warm due to the baking fest that was taking place so I put them in the fridge so the chocolate chips wouldn’t melt, it’s not necessary if you’re not having a melting issue though.

choc2

 

And it’s okay if you eat half the plate because they’re healthy :)

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. sounds like some great holiday fun! super jealous over here! I have never heard of an art crawl but sounds great.

    Reply
  2. I hope your exam went well today!

    Reply
  3. What a fun weekend! Lovee the holiday glasses your friends mom gave you girls. They are adorable.

    Reply
  4. WOW woman. This recipe looks fab and so easy. I love the idea of both an art crawl and a dessert potluck! I like to try different kinds of little desserts so it’d be perfect for me. I so want a holiday wine glass like you have and the wine is definitely much needed after a long day of working/studying, I feel that! I’d use those holiday wine glasses from 11/1 – 12/25 I’m pretty sure. Mmm that TJ’s pizza looks great!

    Reply
    • Thanks! I wish I came up with the idea for a dessert potluck! Because isn’t dessert really the best part of a potluck anyway!
      I definitely plan to use my wine glass everyday until Christmas, even if it’s just for water!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

