Yoga Challenge Recap and Weekly Workouts

I can’t believe Courtney‘s Yoga Challenge is over!

Sweet Tooth, Sweet Life

Even though I didn’t get in as many yoga practices as I was hoping, I still really enjoyed the challenge. Incorporating more yoga into my routine is something I’m always working on and I love a good challenge to encourage me. Thanks Courtney!

I had really good intentions of doing lots of yoga this week, but I’ll be honest, life got in the way. School was super busy and stressful this week and yoga just didn’t happen as much as I wanted. And even though yoga is a great stress reliever I was drawn to more intense cardio classes this weeks. Sometimes you just got to go with what you’re feeling.

Sunday:¬†Sunday morning I did a Hip Opener podcast from Yoga Journal. This podcast was different from the Hip Opening sequence I did last week but still felt equally awesome. I’ve decided if I’m going to continue doing workouts that involve things like spin or plyo that I NEED to do hip openers. My hips are wayyy too tight otherwise. Plus I could always use a little more balance in my life.

Sunday night I taught a short 30-minute Pilates class for an Aerobathon (3 hours of exercise, yeahhhh) we were having on campus, and I ended up staying for a 30-minute yoga class afterwards. It just reminded me that I really need to work on making it out to more yoga classes. It’s been tough since they closed the gym where the yoga classes were help and they cut back on a lot of the yoga classes (and Pilates, it’s a lame situation) and they don’t fit into my schedule so well. But the yoga teachers we have on campus are fantastic and too good to just be college students (though most of them are legit and have their 200-hour certifications!).

Today:¬†This morning I did an Arm Balance podcast also from Yoga Journal and it was a lot of fun. I want to work on arm balances more because they are lots of fun and so good for building strength. I just like pulling Stewart, “Look what I can do!”. MADTV reference anyone?

Even though the challenge is over I want to keep trying to incorporate more yoga into my life. I know I always say that and then completely fail at it, but I want to make a better effort this time! My body loves yoga and I need to start listening to it a little (okay a lot) better!

Yoga Challenge recaps: Week 1 | Week 2 | Week 3

Workouts:

I’ve also had some stellar workouts this week that I really want to share with you guys. I love talking workouts on here because for some reason my friends aren’t interested in talking about how many pushups or burpees I did today. I don’t understand why not.

The campus gym I usually go to closed (stupid construction) which has really shaken up my fitness routine and I haven’t had Pilates classes to teach (also thanks to the stupid construction) so I’ve been trying out lots of new classes. My muscles have been soorrrrreeee (in a good way!) all week. I kinda love it.

Sunday I had a meeting to go to with all the other campus group fitness teachers and we always have a workout before the meeting. This month’s workout was done by the personal trainers and it was a little weak, so I went running with a couple of the cardio teachers, which was really nice. We just did a 2.5 mile loop, but they were faster than me so it was a good challenge to keep up. I think I need to find people to run with more often because it was a nice change of pace. Sometimes the time alone while running is nice but I think it would be more motivating to have a running buddy. Too bad most of my friends don’t run.

Monday I went to a step class and my legs were absolutely dead by the end of it. I haven’t been to a step class in forever. It wasn’t my favorite class though, I have a step instructor at my gym at home who is like the queen of step and does some crazy choreography, so I’m a little spoiled.

Tuesday I hit up a 20-20-20 class taught by one of my favorite instructors, she is so sweet but she will work you to death in her classes. I did a full minute of burpees. It hurt. Lots. You Crossfit-ers and your 7 minutes of burpees are crazy. I think I almost drowned in my own sweat, in a good way, if that’s possible.

Someecards always manage to describe my life perfectly.

Wednesday I went to a Total Body Sculpt class, which isn’t a class I’ve been to before, but holy muscles on fire. We did exercises with lots of reps and my muscles were definitely feeling the burn. I tend to do high weight, low rep workouts so this was definitely a change of pace and my poor little muscles were begging for mercy.

Thursday¬†I checked out a Power Abs class. I’m not really a big fan of abs classes, I think spending 30+ minute on crunches is completely pointless, but I was really antsy all day and it was the only class that fit in my schedule, so I figured I try it and give it a chance. I actually ended up liking the class. It wasn’t my favorite class ever, but the instructor incorporated a lot of cardio and back exercises to make the class a little more well rounded. Since the class was a shorter one I also did a couple shoulder exercises and a quick 2 mile run on the treadmill. I finally got to break in my new shoes!

 

I love them! I have been wearing them for cardio classes. My foot has been hurting a lot so I figured I needed to start wearing shoes that actually fit. My foot feel a million times better wearing these shoes. The fact that they are the best color ever (purple!) is just a bonus.

Friday: I got out of my 9:00 am class a little early so I went to a Strengthen and Tone class. I loved this class because it alternated between cardio, strength and circuit style exercises which really kept things interesting. By the end of class I felt like I had gotten an awesome workout. Always a great feeling.

Saturday: Saturday was supposed to be a rest day, but I ended up working on a farm for a couple hours in the afternoon. More on that later, it was a fun experience that deserves its own post.

Sunday: I taught a 30-minute Pilates class for an Aerobathon event we had on campus. I also took a 30-minute kickboxing, circuit and yoga class. Having that much variety in one workout is so much fun. It kept things interesting without leaving me completely exhausted!

Whew, this turned into a massive post. Thanks for hanging in there!

Tell me about your workouts this week!

So you remember the Stewart sketches from MADTV? Tell me I’m not the only one! Those sketches were hilarious!

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Your workout week sounds pretty awesome, so many different things to do! It does help to have a running buddy, but sometimes it can’t be helped. I do workouts by myself, just home DVDs and I started jogging again last week. Your shoes are cute, purple and gray is a nice combination! I got a new pair a couple months ago, too, black Rykas with purple and a some gray. My first pair of black workout shoes, and they look pretty good. :)

    Reply
    • Your workout shoes sound cute! I would love to do more at home DVD workouts but my apartment is pretty small. I do like the ZWOW workouts on youtube though!

      Reply
      • I can relate to working out in a small space, sometimes you just have to move wherever you can (e.g., jump higher if you can’t jump…longer?? :D) I haven’t tried ZWOW, will have to check that out. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

