June Yoga Challenge, Final Recap!

I can’t believe the challenge is over!

And I can’t believe I actually completed it all! I did a yoga challenge back in May and udderly failed at. But, I think I’ve redeemed myself with this challenge.

Unfortunately, my yoga practice this week was not as good as last week’s, but last week’s was amazing so the bar was set pretty high. I still had some good practices though.

Yoga Breakdown!:

Saturday: Gentle Hatha #4 podcast from Yoga Download. I was looking for some new podcasts and found these. I still prefer the Yoga Journal podcasts but Yoga Download has way more options to choose from.
Sunday: I took a Yoga II class at my gym, it was a great class. One of my favorite instructors was teaching and we got to work on Eight Angle Pose (a new favorite). Yoga perfection.
Monday: Gentle Hatha #1 podcast to unwind before bed. The music in this podcast was too ridiculous though. It was the stereotypical yoga, new wave-y, crunchy music. Too ridiculous. The sequence itself was pretty nice though.
Tuesday: I did a self-practice and it was nice. We did some INTENSE stretching in my dance class and I was looking for some gentle yoga to do to relax my muscles (and try to hold off some soreness!) before I went to bed, and looking through some podcasts I couldn’t find anything that fit the bill. Then I thought “Oh! Duh Lea, make up your own.” Why it took me so long to figure this one out, I do not know. I did some hip openers, hamstring stretches and sun salutations. I was still way sore the next day though, you can’t win them all.
Wednesday: I took another Yoga II class at the gym, this one was not so good though. I took the class after finishing my LiveFit workout and I was functioning on about 5.5 hours of sleep. I just felt weak and anxious the whole class and I couldn’t get into it. It was one my least favorite instructors too, she’s not a bad teacher I’m just not a fan of her style. It was just a mix for a bad class. You win some, you lose some.

Overall I’m so happy I did this challenge. I had been majorly neglecting yoga and this challenge has rekindled my love for it!

My muscles are so happy after keeping up a consistent yoga practice. We worked on tilts in dance on Tuesday.

Tilts!

I was surprised by just how much flexibility I’ve maintained. I haven’t done much dancing since January, so I only have yoga to thank for this. I’m glad I’ve found a way to stay in dance shape even if I can’t make it to a dance class.

I’ve also seen a definite difference in my mood. I feel much calmer and my mood had been much better, even when I’m grouchy, tired, and not had nearly enough sleep.

I definitely plan to keep up a consistent yoga practice even when the challenge is over. I’ve realized how important it is for me ┬áin terms of my overall fitness. Yoga offers so many benefits, and I tend to forget just how amazing it is, so I want to work at keeping a consistent yoga practice, and not forgetting how amazing it is.

I still haven’t made it to class at a studio but I’m hoping to go to one on Saturday.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I can’t believe that june is done either! Crazy! That is great that you have made progress with flexibility and such with the yoga challenge :)

    Reply
  1. Yoga Challenge Week 1 Recap « greensandcoffeebeans

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

